Congratulations Top Solvers!

Posted by Dwayne Spradlin on May 19, 2010 8:28:16 AM

badge_2009Please join me in congratulating the InnoCentive Top Solvers for 2009announced earlier this week.

The twelve individuals selected as Top Solvers for 2009 were awarded the most prize dollars last year.  This year’s Top Solvers come from six countries including India, Canada, Finland, the United Kingdom and the United States. Challenges solved in 2009 varied within a range of subjects – finding new uses for cotton, extending the shelf life of microbiological products, Passenger Screening for Contagious Agents and closing in on finding a biomarker for ALS.

Two of our Top Solvers, Nikolay Barashkov from the United States and Kamel El-Darwish from Finland, are multi-year honorees.

Our Solvers are some of the world’s smartest, most innovative thinkers and each year there are more Challenges posted seeking answers to increasingly difficult problems. All of our Solvers, and especially our Top Solvers, prove time and time again that they can rise to the occasion to successfully tackle these issues and make a difference in the world.

Please join me in congratulating the 2009 Top Solvers:

Nikolay Barashkov, USA: A three-time Top Solver, Dr. Barashkov is currently the director of research and development at Micro-Tracers, Inc. He is the author of six books, 105 published articles, two granted U.S. patents, three granted European patents and has ten U.S. patents pending.

Kamel El-Darwish, Finland: Awarded three Challenges, Dr. El-Darwish was also a Top Solver in 2008. He has a Ph.D. in biology and develops solutions for the health and personal care, food, agriculture, and environmental protection industries. He is the author of four published articles in prominent biology journals.

Vidyavati Manchi, India: Awarded one Challenge in life sciences.

Paul Wagorn, Canada: Awarded three Challenges in the areas of chemistry, business/entrepreneurship and engineering/design.

H. Minh, UK: Awarded two Challenges in life sciences and chemistry. Minh has a Ph.D. in computational mathematics and is interested in computational chemistry, computational biology, bio-informatics and process optimization.

Mounir Errami, USA/Morocco: Dr. Errami has a Ph.D. in Bioinformatics from UCBL, France and an MBA from Northeastern University in Boston. His current professional focus concerns drug discovery using bioinformatics platforms and data mining in science and marketing analytics.

Ahmet Karabulut, USA: Awarded three Challenges. He has degrees in molecular biology and molecular genetics. His research interests include free radical biology, molecular and cellular biology as well as pharmaceutical sciences.

Daniel Olson, USA: Awarded two Challenges in physical sciences in 2009. Olson received a Ph.D. in organic chemistry from the University of Oregon. He holds 50 U.S. patents and has 20 peer-reviewed journal publications.

Dirk Moore, USA: Dirk received a Ph.D. in biostatistics from the University of Washington in Seattle in 1985, and is currently a faculty member at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey and at the Cancer Institute of New Jersey. He is a co-author of more than 50 publications in biostatistics, genetics, proteomics, and cancer biology.

Harvey Arbesman, USA: Winner of the ALS Biomarker Discovery Prize, Dr Arbesman is a physician, an epidemiologist and the Vice President of ArbesIdeas, Inc. He is currently a clinical assistant professor at the University of Buffalo. He has been published in various medical journals including the Journal of the American Medical Association and the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology and Medical Hypotheses.

Sandip Bharate, USA: Awarded three Challenges, Sandip has a Ph.D. in natural products chemistry from NIPER, India. He is currently a post-doctoral scientist at the University of Montana. His research interests include the design and synthesis of new chemical entities for various therapeutic areas and the development of new synthetic methodologies.

Seward Rutkove, USA: Dr. Rutkove is the winner of the ALS Biomarker Progress Prize. He is a neurologist at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston where he is focused on helping people with neuromuscular disorders. He was an ALS researcher and clinician in the ALS field for more than 10 years, and has received a progress prize for his proposed biomarker.



CEO InnoCentive

Topics: Challenges

Follow InnoCentive

Search Blog

Join 5,000+ Subscribers

Recent Posts